Posted by: hikerdude | September 1, 2012

A Middle Man’s Tale: Part II – The Genius of Generations

As I have reflected on my journey through this season of my life known as middle age, I have come to appreciate the genius of generations.  God really had a great idea when He conceived the concept of generations.  I first began to consider this several years ago as I was reading John C. Maxwell’s book, The Winning Attitude. 

Maxwell wrote, “God has ordained that there be a succession of generations: First a man is a son, then a father, then a grandfather and possibly even a great-grandfather.  Each new generation is God’s way of telling us that He still has a purpose for us to fulfill.  In fact, each generation has three specific functions to perform: (1) conserve, (2) criticize, (3) create.” Id. at p. 125.  He goes on to explain that the older generation passes on the wisdom of the ages, so that the succeeding generation does not have to “reinvent the wheel.”  The new generation can build on the things which have worked well from the past.  They can choose to conserve foundational wisdom, such as numerals, language, and the gospel.  But they can also criticize and cause a re-examination of things.  This can lead to innovation and the creation of new and better (1) things; (2) people; and (3) a future.

As I indicated earlier, when we began our hike up Half Dome, we had generational representation of the Greatest Generation, the Baby-Boomers, and Generation Y, a/k/a the Millennials.  Grant and I noticed an Asian/American family on the trail with us.  There were some who were college-aged, and then there was an older gentleman with them, who we later learned was 81 years old.  He was wearing long pants, a long sleeve shirt, and a big hat.  What we learned over the course of the day was that his heart was much, much bigger than his hat.  We would pull ahead in the hike for a while and then take a break to rest.  Then their group would overtake us and hike ahead of us on up the trail.  They would then take a break and we would pull ahead.  After their group and ours leap-frogged each other a few times, we stopped and talked with our fellow trekkers.  We were told the older gentleman was their 81 year old grandfather, who had been training for four hours a day in order to prepare to hike up Half Dome.  This item was on his bucket list.  You may recall the term “bucket list” was made famous a few years ago in the movie by the same name, which starred Morgan Freeman and Jack Nicholson as two men dying of cancer who shared some amazing adventures while checking off items from a list of things they wanted to experience before they “kicked the bucket.”

As the hike went higher and got harder, Grant asked me if I thought I would be hiking up Half Dome when I was 81.  I told him I might, but it would probably be on two new knees (after knee replacements).  I know I was inspired and motivated by “Father Time,” as we came to call him.  As we continued our climb toward the mountain top, we would look back and see him gaining on us.  He would not give up.  He kept right on marching along – just like time.   As I reflected on this hike later, I could not help but think of another ageless wonder, the great baseball pitcher, Satchel Paige.  He once said, “Don’t look back. Something might be gaining on you.” But every time I looked back and saw “Father Time” catching up with me, it motivated me to keep moving.  I specifically remember sitting down for a break right before we took on “the cables,” which make up the last 400 feet of the journey up Half Dome.  I looked back and saw “Father Time” coming up behind us, and I told Grant, “Let’s get going…I’m not going to let an 81 year old man beat me to the top!”

We did get to the top ahead of him, but he and his party were right behind us.  He finished and finished well.  And yes, that is “Father Time” in the first picture above. I want to be that kind of motivator of those who come after me.  I want to be that kind of inspiration, not only to my children, but my grandchildren someday, as well as the younger people I mentor in the years to come.

Perhaps this is the lasting legacy of the Greatest Generation: never, ever give up, and live your life to the fullest – all the way to its end.  The lesson I took from my Generation Y/Millennial son was:  set your sights high- no, higher.  You can do more than you think.  And as the representative Baby Boomers, I would add: Keep moving…Father Time is right behind you!

Those who come after us in the younger generation challenge us to get outside our comfort zone and do things we never considered before.  They can challenge us to commence.  But those who have gone before us in the older generation challenge us keep going to the end – to aspire to inspire before we expire.  They challenge us to complete what has been begun and not quit on life.  And when you mix the enthusiasm of youth with the experience of the aged, there is no telling how high you can go.  This is the genius of generations. (To be continued)


Leave a comment

Categories